The Law Offices of Jeffrey E. Goldman
Let's work together
646-835-2063

A basic primer in New York wage laws

You work hard for your money, so you probably want to make sure that you get everything that is due to you when payday comes around. New York law sets specific provisions to help citizens understand a few basics points about their pay.

Here are several points for you to know about working and earning a wage in New York.

Statewide minimum wage

There are several different factors that determine minimum wage. As of September of 2017, the minimum wage for all of the state of New York is $9.70, but this is set to increase on Dec. 31, 2017, to $10.40. It will increase again one year later to $11.10. On Dec. 31, 2019, it goes up again to $11.80. On Dec. 31, 2020, minimum wage for the state is set at $12.50.

Long Island and Westchester

Long Island and Westchester have a different minimum wage. It is set at $10 per hour until the end of 2017. At that time, it is set to increase by $1 per year through the year 2021.

New York City's minimum wage

New York City also has a different minimum wage schedule. It is based on the number of the employees a business has. Through the end of 2017, employers who have 10 or fewer employees, or small employers, must pay at least $10.50 per hour. Companies with 11 or more employees, or big employers, must pay at least $11 per hour.

On Dec. 31, 2017, small employers must pay at least $12 per hour and big employers must pay at least $13 per hour. This increases to $15 on Dec. 31, 2018, for big employers or $13.50 for small employers. It goes up again on Dec. 31, 2019, for small employers. At that time, minimum wage throughout the city is set at $15 across the board.

Frequency of pay

Employers can't just pay employees when they feel like it. Instead, state law sets standards for how often employees must be paid in the private sector. These guidelines don't include those who earn at least $600 per week and hold administrative, executive or professional positions. For those individuals, pay must be made in a timely manner, but there aren't specific timeframes.

Commissioned sales people must be paid at least once per month. Pay for one month can't be paid later than the last day of the following month. This means that pay earned in September must be paid by October 31.

Clerical and other non-manual workers must be paid at least twice per month. Manual workers must be paid weekly. That pay must be provided no later than seven days following the end of the pay period.

Workers who aren't being paid properly do have the right to seek legal remedies for the issues. Make sure that you fully understand your rights if you plan on doing this.

No Comments

Leave a comment
Comment Information
You have rights. Let us help you assert those rights.
Email Us For A Response

Contact Us To Find Out How We Can Help

Bold labels are required.

Contact Information
disclaimer.

The use of the Internet or this form for communication with the firm or any individual member of the firm does not establish an attorney-client relationship. Confidential or time-sensitive information should not be sent through this form.

close

Privacy Policy

Contact Information

The Law Offices of Jeffrey E. Goldman
501 Fifth Avenue
Suite 1900
New York, NY 10017

Phone: 646-835-2063
Fax: 212-949-5085
Map & Directions